Welcome To My Challenge

Dan takes on boxing at the Gold Challenge launch event in November 2010

This post is about the Olympic and Paralympic sport challenge I did in the lead up to London 2012. For anyone interested in how Run the World started, please click here.

I started working on the Gold Challenge about two years ago and during those two years it’s grown out of recognition. We now have 120 charity partners and huge support from the sporting sector including the British Olympic Association /Team GB, Sport England, Paralympics GB and the National governing Bodies of the Olympic and Paralympic sports.

Its now time to get going on my own personal Gold Challenge. After much thought, and with much trepidation, I’ve decided to do every individual Olympic event. I’m also going to throw in all the individual Paralympic events that don’t have Olympic counterparts.

The total number of events is 109 and I don’t know if I’m more scared about the enormity of the task or about the thought of doing events like the pole vault, the high dive, the 10k open water swim – or anything involving a horse.

I’ll be fundraising for all our Gold Challenge charity partners and I wish you could have had the chance, as I have, to talk to them about their work. It truly is inspiring and has made me determined to raise as much money as I can for them.

If you can, please do give generously.

Dan and the Gold Challenge charities at the launch!

For those interested in the detail, the way I’ll be doing the events is as follows :- For all the ‘distance’ events such as the running, swimming, walking and road cycling events, I’ll actually run/swim/walk/cycle the distance in question- For all the other sports and events my challenge will be to learn the sport by doing a minimum of three hours coaching
In doing the events I’ll be trying to keep as close as practicable to Olympic conditions and, wherever possible, I’ll be using Olympic venues and routes.
If you’d like to keep in touch as I take on my challenge then please see my blog or follow me on Facebook and or Twitter.
Finally, if you’re interested in taking on the Gold Challenge yourself then please register at http://www.goldchallenge.org/register

Don’t worry – you only need to do 5 sports

About Run the World

I'm running 10 km in every country in the world - a total of 205 countries - by the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo. I'm doing the Run the World challenge to promote the benefits of sport and physical activity and to raise money for cancer research following the death of my mother from cancer. If you'd like to donate to Cancer Research - https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/ - then I know they'd be very grateful.
This entry was posted in Dan's Gold Challenge Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

