The Enormity of the Equestrian Events

That's me, on a horse.

Firstly, many thanks to TrentPark Equestrian Centre http://www.trentpark.com/ for donating a riding lesson towards my Gold Challenge.  They have been really good lessons and all their help has been much appreciated!

My first three hours of horse riding ensured I can now walk, trot and just about hang on during a canter.  It truly was a  great experience and highly recommended.

Riding off into the sunset.

Three hours coaching would normally be enough to qualify you for having done your Gold Challenge horse riding. However, as I’m doing every Olympic and Paralympic event, I’m also (somehow!) doing show jumping, dressage and eventing.

So I went back to Trent Park Equestrian Centre  on Monday for the next stage of my riding lessons. There was lots of focus on cantering which I need for my show jumping. Terrifying as always but, at the end of the session, managed a canter while out on a hack which was exhilarating. Huge thanks to Adam Petch for the lesson and to Maria Johnson (Yard Manager) for her support.

Apparently, Trent Park is going to be part of a scheme offering cut price lessons to get lapsed riders back into riding. More details when I’ve got them but could be a great opportunity for Gold Challengers.

For now, please enjoy this short clip of me getting to grips with trotting:

About Run the World

I'm running 10 km in every country in the world - a total of 205 countries - by the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo. I'm doing the Run the World challenge to promote the benefits of sport and physical activity and to raise money for cancer research following the death of my mother from cancer. If you'd like to donate to Cancer Research - https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/ - then I know they'd be very grateful.
This entry was posted in Dan's Gold Challenge Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

