More Kayaking at Dorney Lake – And I Still Didn’t Fall In!

Look at that effort!

Last week saw me go back to Dorney Lake for my kayaking. As I’d had coaching previously, I was able to go straight into the Olympic distances.   This time I completed the 1000m, 500m and 200m one after the other – absolutely exhausting. My arm were like (cooked) spaghetti when it was all over.

My friend and photographer Jon timed me and I managed the 1000m and 200m in about 2 ½ times the world record time – not sure if that’s good or bad (or just indifferent)?

Hitting the big distances

Finally, I’d just like to add a reminder that not only is Dorney Lake the Olympic venue but it’s also open to the public for rowing and canoeing/kayaking. It really is a beautiful facility so please give it a visit if you’re thinking about trying any of those sports for your Gold Challenge.

 

About Run the World

I'm running 10 km in every country in the world - a total of 205 countries - by the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo. I'm doing the Run the World challenge to promote the benefits of sport and physical activity and to raise money for cancer research following the death of my mother from cancer. If you'd like to donate to Cancer Research - https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/ - then I know they'd be very grateful.
This entry was posted in Dan's Gold Challenge Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

