Using Your Head

One point that’s really struck me recently is that, although the sports I’m doing are very different, there are also some strong cross-sport similarities. In particular, I’ve recently had almost identical advice about using my head in windsurfing, mountain biking, horse riding and BMX.

The first piece of advice has been to keep the head up and eyes looking forward. This sounds simple but is actually quite hard as there is a real temptation to look down – especially when you don’t really know what you’re doing and want to see how you’re placed on your surfboard / bike / horse and what’s coming up just in front of you. However, if you can keep your eyes forward, then it’s miraculous how much it helps your balance and ability to progress smoothly.

The second piece of connected advice is to move your head to look at where you’re going – esp. when going round corners. I found that, particularly on a horse and BMX bike, it’s hugely easier to turn when you make an almost exaggerated head movement to look round the corner.

So there you have it – use your head and life gets a lot easier!

About Run the World

I'm running 10 km in every country in the world - a total of 205 countries - by the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo. I'm doing the Run the World challenge to promote the benefits of sport and physical activity and to raise money for cancer research following the death of my mother from cancer. If you'd like to donate to Cancer Research - https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/ - then I know they'd be very grateful.
This entry was posted in Dan's Gold Challenge Story and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment