Itineraphobia

Itineraphobia – the fear of one’s travel itinerary – is a little known and little understood complaint. But it is, nonetheless, a serious issue. I know because I’m currently suffering from it.

Luke – my travel agent and torturer in chief – has me going to 9 East African countries in 8 days in late November. 12 separate flights involving countless excruciating hours in tiny seats in (invariably full) economy class. More than 20 airport transfers with cold eyed taxi drivers assessing how much of a ride they can take me for. 2 am starts ; overnight flights ; aeons in transit in expensively featureless airports ; a never ending array of visas and immigration forms.  All present and correct.

And then there are the runs. 9 runs in 8 days. That’s over two marathons worth of running in just over a week. In the middle of the southern hemisphere summer. Not a million miles away from the equator. Excellent planning all round.

And that’s why I have the fear. The fear of my own itinerary and the travel hell that’s coming my way. (And will keep on coming. At the end of my East African trip I will have completed 40 countries – but still have another 164 to go.)

Furthermore, I know that, much as I like to blame the ever patient Luke, it’s all my fault. But the good news, dear reader, is that you can help. You can set aside the pity (or more likely the schadenfreude..) you were feeling and make a donation to Cancer Research – https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/

Because the pain I’m about to go through on my travels and runs wouldn’t even be noticed by many cancer sufferers. They’d give anything to be able to do exactly the things I’m dreading. To be able to travel, to move freely, to enjoy life. And it would just be great to help them in some small way.

And, if donations aren’t your thing, then please cast an eye over the itinerary below and let me know if you have any contacts who might like to run with me or could help with local logistics or media. Better still, take a break and come run with me!

Tu 18th Nov – Kampala, Uganda

Wed 19th Nov – Kigali, Rwanda

Thu 20th Nov – Bujumbura, Burundi

Fri 21st Nov – Nairobi, Kenya

Fri 21st Nov – Lilongwe, Malawi (2nd run of the day…)

Sat 22nd Nov – Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

Sun 23rd Nov – Mahe, Seychelles

Mon 24th Nov – Mahebourg,Mauritius

Tu 25th Nov – Antananarivo, Madagascar

About Run the World

I'm running 10 km in every country in the world - a total of 205 countries - by the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo. I'm doing the Run the World challenge to promote the benefits of sport and physical activity and to raise money for cancer research following the death of my mother from cancer. If you'd like to donate to Cancer Research - https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/ - then I know they'd be very grateful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

