Run 39 : Mauritius – Domaine de Bel Ombre

 

RTw Mauritus 4

Please give generously to Cancer Research : https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/

Date : 25th November, 2014

Time :  59’38”

Total Distance Run to date : 390 km

Run map and details : http://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/640878973

Press coverage : http://www.cotenordmag.com/tag/run-the-world-challenge/ ; L’Express (paper)

Adrian is famous for his moustache.

And rightly so. For it’s no fly-by-night Movember job. It’s been there since time immemorial. Some say since birth.

Nor is it a Shoreditchian display of asymmetric facial topiary. It’s a proper moustache. It covers Adrian’s top lip. Nothing more. Nothing less.

And under the moustache is one of the most charming men you could ever hope to meet. The word ‘affable’ could have been – and perhaps was – invented for Adrian.

Now it’s a truth universally recognised that charming men with moustaches have lots of friends. And one of this charming man’s friends happens to own a chain of resorts in Mauritius.  Which is how I end up at the Heritage Awali on the south coast of Mauritius.

Regular readers of this blog will know that my usual accommodation varies between the cheap end of the business market (if Luke books it) and the local B & B (if I book it). Without forgetting the seat at the back that doesn’t recline and is right next to the toilets. You know, the one that’s specially reserved for all my overnight flights.

Thanks to a 5 hour delay on my incoming flight. I don’t get to the Awali until almost 11pm. A waste of pool and beach time that I propose to be bitter about for the rest of time.  However, despite the late hour, it’s soon clear that the Awali is a cut above my usual accommodation. For a start, I can’t hear a single barking dog, car alarm, annoying and untraceable electronic beep or oddly behaving neighbour. Secondly, I could have completed my Mauritian 10 km run without leaving my room.

But quite how wonderful it is really only becomes apparent the following morning when Jerome leads 8 or 9 of us out for our 10 km within the Domaine de Bel Ombre – the resort estate.

We start up past the villa section of the estate before turning downhill and skirting an immaculate and award winning golf course. Then along the coast and back via the beach before ending up at hotel.

The tour of the estate has had the desired effect. I want to come back. By the time we’ve had breakfast, checked that we’ve made the local press (L’Express), and I’ve been for a dip in the ocean and the pool, I REALLY want to come back.

But its time to drag my increasingly battered body to the next country. Though, given that the previous run almost reduced me to tears, the body’s not quite as painful as I feared. Its remarkable what some company and a knee bandage can do for your bouncebackability. By the afternoon my knees were on fire again but, overall, Mauritius was nowhere as bad as the Seychelles.

Thank you Kaushall, Pascal and Amelia for all the hospitality and support, Jerome and the team (pictured above) for the great run, and Claire for the company and (subsequently purloined) knee bandage. Hope to see you all again!

 

About Run the World

I'm running 10 km in every country in the world - a total of 205 countries - by the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo. I'm doing the Run the World challenge to promote the benefits of sport and physical activity and to raise money for cancer research following the death of my mother from cancer. If you'd like to donate to Cancer Research - https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/ - then I know they'd be very grateful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Run 39 : Mauritius – Domaine de Bel Ombre

  1. Claire says:

    Gold! Keep up the good work and be sure to keep the Heritage Awali on your side if you want to come back!

Leave a Reply

