Run 56 : Indonesia – Batam Island

RTW Indonesia

Please give generously to Cancer Research : https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/

Date : 24th March, 2015

Time :  58’ 12”

Total distance run to date : 560 km

Run map and details : https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/729582885

Indonesia is a huge country with over 250 million inhabitants – the world’s fourth most populous – and 17 500 islands. But I’m running on little Batam island just off Singapore’s south coast. For Luke, the ever patient travel agent, has spotted that I can do Indonesia by ferry from Singapore. Thereby saving me one flight, two airport transfers and yet another change of hotel. And for that, I am deeply grateful.

Batam is a free trade zone and part of the Indonesia – Malaysia – Singapore Growth Triangle. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are important parts of the economy and, apparently, it’s a distribution centre for the ivory trade.

It has a slightly odd feel to it. A number of modern hotel and resort type buildings, lots of building going on and a sense that they want to attract tourism – but not many tourists in evidence. Mind you, there’s no reason for any tourist to be out running up and down the streets of Batam in the heat of the afternoon. So maybe they were there but just had the sense to be doing something more enjoyable. Perhaps they were even at Coastarina which looked – from the ferry – like a completely deserted amusement park.

Whatever they were doing it had to be more fun than my run. It was my hot, my legs hurt and, while I hate to be negative about anywhere I run, Batam wasn’t distracting enough to help me pass the kilometres. Maps were thin on the ground (and Google maps hadn’t been much help beforehand) so I ran round aimlessly for a bit until I got to a patch of waste ground in front of the ‘Welcome to Batan’ sign. Time for the photo above – with my sun hat helpfully obscuring the sign.

Then some more relatively aimless running and I got to 5k – and wished my challenge was to run 5k in every country and not 10k. Eventually I ground out kilometres 6,7,8,9 and 10 and arrived, wringing wet, back at the ferry terminal.

That was it. The eighth and final run of my SE Asia trip. Too much running, travel, heat, humidity and jet lag. But also a succession of amazing countries and cities. All at different stages of development – but all moving fast towards the future. If you haven’t been before, then go now!

About Run the World

I'm running 10 km in every country in the world - a total of 205 countries - by the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo. I'm doing the Run the World challenge to promote the benefits of sport and physical activity and to raise money for cancer research following the death of my mother from cancer. If you'd like to donate to Cancer Research - https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/ - then I know they'd be very grateful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

