Run 69 : Cayman Islands – Grand Cayman

RTW Caymans

Please give generously to Cancer Research : https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/

Date : 5th February, 2016

Time :  58’ 55”

Total distance run to date : 690 km

Run map and details : https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1044805442

Run the World isn’t all running, waiting round at airports and wishing economy class seats were built for tall people (though there is plenty of all three). Every so often you also get to go somewhere new, somewhere that’s exciting to visit and learn about, and that can make up for a lot of travelling pain.

The Cayman Islands fall into that category and, while this blog’s readers are no doubt a geographically astute crowd, it may be that you’d appreciate a quick introduction. They’re a group of three islands south of Cuba and north-west of Jamaica.

The local economy is built on financial services and tourism. The BBC recently aired “Britain’s Trillion Pound Island” about the Caymans being a tax haven. A programme that drew a fairly sharp response in the Caymans. While I was there, Prime Minister McLaughlin made a speech castigating the UK as an over-regulated, over-taxed country which should stop criticising other countries with successful economic models.

I was visiting the biggest island – Gran Cayman – which is roughly twenty miles by 4 in size. And on its western coast is the jewel in the tourism crown – the beautiful Seven Mile Beach. A 5 1/2 mile (sic) strip of golden, yielding sand which is lovely to look at and a bugger to run on.

I know because it was part of the route put together by Tony and the Wednesday Night Running Club. Which, particularly considering it was a Friday morning, was very good of them.

Admittedly it only made up about 1/2 a kilometre of the run but that was more than enough for me. Any more and I’m not sure I’d have finished the run let alone scraped in under the hour that I give myself for these runs.

To be fair, apart from the sand, it was a good run hearing about life on the island. A life which seems to involve more time, more money and more sunshine than many other parts of the world.

Christine was one of the people on the run who’d decided to settle in the Caymans. She’s a physio and offered me a free treatment to help sort out the IT band problem that had been bothering me throughout my Caribbean runs.

The treatment included acupuncture and she kindly offered to take photos of me with needles in situ. Which she then sent to me attached to an email with the subject matter “Your Bum”.

At the time we both thought that pictures of me pin cushioned with needles might help with my fundraising. But, on reviewing the photos, there is quite a lot of buttock on display….

So, here’s the deal. If enough people promise to donate to cancer research, then I’ll publish the photos. If not, then the photos stay private.

Many thanks to Christine, Tony and the Wednesday Night Running Club – really enjoyed the run, the company and, yes, even the acupuncture!

 

 

About Run the World

I'm running 10 km in every country in the world - a total of 205 countries - by the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo. I'm doing the Run the World challenge to promote the benefits of sport and physical activity and to raise money for cancer research following the death of my mother from cancer. If you'd like to donate to Cancer Research - https://www.justgiving.com/Dan-Thompson11/ - then I know they'd be very grateful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Run 69 : Cayman Islands – Grand Cayman

  1. Marit says:

    Great blog, Dan. Having done a lot of sewing in the past, I have encountered a lot different pincushions but this is a new one for me! Once in a lifetime opportunity so hopefully Cancer Rechearch will receive LOTS and LOTS of donations, please.

  2. Pingback: Run 68 : Cuba – Havana | dansgoldchallenge

Leave a Reply

